fbpx

About Us

THE BARK MILL IS A RESTORED MILL AND MUSEUM IN SWANSEA ON TASMANIA’S EAST COAST, THAT WAS ESTABLISHED IN 1885 TO MILL BARK USED IN THE TANNING PROCESS.

LOCATED ALONG THE GREAT EASTERN DRIVE, THE BARK MILL IS THE PERFECT DESTINATION STOP ALONG THE EAST COAST, PROVIDING A DIVERSE RANGE OF HOSPITALITY OPTIONS IN ONE VENUE.
A SCENIC 1.5 HOUR DRIVE FROM HOBART OR LAUNCESTON, SWANSEA IS CLOSE TO WINERIES AND MAGNIFICENT SCENERY ACROSS GREAT OYSTER BAY TO THE FREYCINET PENINSULA. SWANSEA IS THE PERFECT LOCATION AS A CENTRAL SPOT FOR VISITING THE REGION.

THE BAKERY OFFERS A DELI STYLE DINE IN MENU AND INHOUSE BAKED CAKES AND TARTS INCLUDING A SELECTION OF HOUSE MADE PIES AND PASTRIES ALL FROM LOCAL INGREDIENTS AS WELL AS SANDWICHES TO GO. WE HAVE FANTASTICALLY SMOOTH COFFEE THANKS TO MOCOPAN WITH YOUR CHOICE OF MILKS AND OUR BREAD IS BAKED DAILY.

WOOD FIRED PIZZAS ARE MADE IN THE ICONIC WATER TANK PIZZA OVEN.

HERE AT THE BARK MILL BE STRIVE TO BE ‘TASSIE OWNED’ WITH LOCAL WINES MATCH PERFECTLY WITH A LOCAL GRAZING PLATTER FOR THE ADULTS, WHILE THE KIDS ENJOY THE PLAYGROUND.
THE BAR AND GRILL, OPEN FOR LUNCH AND DINNER, TASSIE PRODUCE WITH A RANGE OF LOCAL SEAFOOD AND MANY OTHER LOCALLY SOURCED INGREDIENTS SUCH AS STEAKS ARE ALL SOURCED FROM THE NORTH WEST OF TASMANIA COOKED TO YOUR LIKING ON THE CHAR.

GREAT SUMMER ATMOSPHERE IN THE OUTDOOR COURTYARD.
WEEKENDS IN SUMMER ARE ABOUT TO BECOME SO MUCH MORE EXCITING OFFERING OUR SUMMER SESSIONS, LIVE ACOUSTIC MUSIC FROM LOCAL TASMANIAN ARTISTS.

OUR THIRSTY CAMEL BOTTLE SHOP HAS A DIVERSE RANGE OF BEVERAGES BOTH LOCAL TASMANIAN AND MAINSTREAM FAVOURITES. A WIDE RANGE OF EAST COAST AND TASMANIAN WINES SHOWCASED IN OUR TASMANIAN WINE WALL.

OUR FRIENDLY STAFF ARE HAPPY TO ASSIST WITH YOUR BEVERAGE SELECTION.
LARGE CARPARK AND COACH PARKING FACILITIES CLOSE TO THE ENTRANCE OF THE BUILDING AND CLEAN REST ROOMS. PLEASE CONTACT US TO DISCUSS YOUR GROUPS REQUIREMENTS OR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT “THE BARK MILL”
THE HISTORICAL BARK MILL MUSEUM IS CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS AND WILL BE REOPENED IN 2021.

HISTORY:

THE BARK MILL WAS BUILT IN THE 1880’S AS A PORTABLE PLANT TO CRUSH BLACK WATTLE BARK BY WILLIAM MOREY IN THE SEASIDE TOWN OF SWANSEA.

THE BARK CHIPS AND DUST WERE SENT TO TANNERIES IN DIFFERENT PARTS OF THE WORLD, AS WELL AS OTHER AUSTRALIAN STATES. THE TANNERY WOULD EXTRACT TANNIC ACID FROM THE BARK BY A SOAKING PROCESS. IT WAS OFTEN THEN USED TO TAN HIDES TO MAKE LEATHER. DURING THE DEPRESSION YEARS, THE SWANSEA BARK MILL KEPT THE TOWN ALIVE WHEN THE BOTTOM FELL OUT OF THE WOOL MARKET, MANY LOCALS STILL REMEMBER GOING WATTLE BARK STRIPPING AND EARNING SIXPENCE A BUNDLE. THE MILL WAS MADE PERMANENT ON THE SITE IN 1918 AND CONTINUED CRUSHING BARK UNTIL THE 1960S. THE MILL WAS CONSIDERED UNIQUE BECAUSE MOST OF THE MILL’S OPERATION CAME FROM THE INVENTIVE GENIUS OF WILLIAMS’S SON FRANK, USING ANYTHING HE COULD LAY HIS HANDS ON SUCH AS JAM TINS, OLD TIMBER, METAL AND PACKING CASES TO REFINE THE MILL INTO WHAT STANDS TODAY. IN 1960 THE BARK MILL STOPPED WORK AND FELL INTO DISREPAIR.

IN 1981 THE MILL WAS PURCHASED FROM REX MOREY WHO WAS THE GRANDSON OF THE ORIGINAL BUILDER WILLIAM AND HE DECIDED TO RESTORE THE MILL AND TURNED IT INTO A LARGE HISTORICAL MUSEUM. AFTER MORE THAN 1800 HOURS OF HARD WORK, THE MILL WAS READY TO OPEN TO THE PUBLIC ON 2ND APRIL 1982.

DURING THE EARLY 2000’S IT WAS EXPANDED AND BECAME A COFFEE SHOP CONTAINING A LOCAL WOOL SHOP WHERE OUR CURRENT RESTAURANT STANDS TODAY. THE MUSEUM IS CURRENTLY NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC AS IT IS UNDER RENOVATION TO BE REOPENED AT A LATER DATE.

IN 2004 THE ONLY ‘PUB’ IN TOWN BURNT DOWN AND AFTER TWO YEARS OF NO PUBLIC BAR IN THIS EAST COAST COMMUNITY, THE BARK MILL WAS RENOVATED AND ONCE AGAIN THE TOWN OF SWANSEA HAD A GATHERING PLACE, GIVING THE TOWN HEART AND VIBRANCY. THIS IS WHEN THE TAVERN, RESTAURANT, AND BOTTLE SHOP WERE. AT THIS TIME, IT WAS A NEW FRESH BAR FOR THE EAST COAST, HOSTING LIVE MUSIC EVENTS, WITH NATIONAL ACTS, FANTASTIC HEARTY MEALS AND AN OVERALL EXCITING ATMOSPHERE FOR THE COAST. IN 2006 THE BUILDING WAS SOLD WHO STILL CURRENTLY HOLD OWNERSHIP, AT THIS TIME THEY INSTALLED THE BAKERY AND PLAYGROUND, THEY ALSO RESEALED THE CARPARK, RENOVATED THE MUSEUM AND GAVE THE VENUE AN OVERALL FACELIFT.

Use the form to send us an email or contact us via the details below:

Address: 96 Tasman Hwy, Swansea  Tas  7190
Phone: 03 6257 8094
Open: 7am - 9pm  7 days

Make a Reservation
bars
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram